SANDAG and Caltrans developing multimodal corridor plan for Interstate 8


California Construction News staff writer

The San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) and Caltrans District 11 are developing a Comprehensive Multimodal Corridor Plan (CMCP) for Interstate 8, named the Kumeyaay Corridor CMCP.

The plan will guide development of a transportation network designed to transform the way people and goods move through the central San Diego region. The CMCP evaluates all travel modes and transportation facilities in the study area using real-time travel data and incorporating public input.

The Kumeyaay Corridor CMCP will create a comprehensive set of safe, sustainable, and equitable transportation solutions that are tailored to the needs of corridor users to promote community vitality and improve quality of life for all.

Primary goals are:

  • Identify the transportation needs of the people that live, work, visit, and travel through the study area
  • Gather input from the community to create solutions that integrate with current development and land use policies while promoting an innovative, resilient, efficient, and accessible multimodal transportation system
  • Create a plan that enhances economic vitality, fosters safe and healthy communities, and improves equitable access to jobs and education

Officials say completing CMCPs will help the region compete for local, state, and federal funds, including Senate Bill 1, the Road Repair and Accountability Act of 2017. The Kumeyaay Corridor CMCP is anticipated to be completed in late 2023.

At the same time, SANDAG, Caltrans, Metropolitan Transit System (MTS), and the City of San Diego are also developing the Mission Valley Mobility Study. This study will focus on options that reduce vehicle miles traveled, while coordinating transportation improvements with major development projects underway in the area including SDSU Mission Valley and Riverwalk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.